Search the Centre for Cancer Biology
The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research

The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Clifford Prize for Cancer Research

The Clifford Prize for Cancer Research is an International Prize awarded in recognition of outstanding cancer research leading to significant clinical outcomes. The Prize, awarded at the biennial Barossa Meetings, consists of a Perpetual Trophy and a glass sculpture (both manufactured by Nick Mount). The awardee also receives a magnum of Clarendon Hills ‘Astralis’.

Previous awardees were Axel Ullrich (2005), Tony Hunter (2007), John Dick (2009), Vishva Dixit (2011), Arul Chinnaiyan (2013), Inder Verma and Jane Visvader (2015), and Joseph Schlessinger (2017).

The 2019 Prize will be awarded at the 9th Barossa Meeting ‘Cell Signalling in Cancer Medicine’ to be conducted 12-15 November 2019 in the Barossa Valley, South Australia.

Nominations for the award should include the candidate’s full CV, and a brief description of the candidate’s contributions to cancer research, highlighting the impact of the work on cancer treatment.

Nominations should be submitted by mail or email to:

Angela Ziaei, Executive Assistant to Professor AF Lopez
Director, Centre for Cancer Biology,
UniSA Bldg, cnr North Terrace & Morphett St bridge
GPO Box 2471 Adelaide SA 5001 | Mailroom IPC: CWE-44
T: +61 8 8302 7916 |

Note that it is a requirement that the recipient of the award attends the 9th Barossa Meeting to receive the award and to present a talk describing the work that has led to the award.

Nominees will be judged by an independent panel of Australian Scientists together with previous winners.

Nominations close August 30th 2019